Day: Bake Off!

bakeoff2
So here’s a few fun facts about me and baking.

  1. My sister bakes.
  2. My mother-in-law bakes.
  3. I bake Betty Crocker Brownies. I even managed to enhance the taste with charcoal.

Instead, I decided to ditch my workout and meditation, and take to the sofa to indulge in a little Great British Bake Off. A few reasons why…

  1. Mr Snacks is working ’til late tonight. Therefore, the remote control was MINE…. ALLLLLL MINE! *Insert evil laugh*
  2. I love cakes.
  3. I figured I should show my support for the lovely Candice. Why? Well, she went to my school. She joined my school dance club – yes, I was that cool. She LOVES a bold lip (I dabble in a bit of makeup meself). And, well, why the hell not!? I love a good success story out of this sorry town! No offence.
  4. Oh and I forgot… I love cakes. Huh? I’ve already mentioned that? Right.

So, there am, snuggled up on the sofa. Just me, my cuppa tea and a couple of cookies (well if I’ve ditched the workout, I may as well have a cookie right!? Well two. Ok two cookies and a digestive. Jeez, give a girl a break!) – salivating over the Viennese Swirls and Gingerbread Pubs, when it dawned on me that I was literally having the time of my life. There was food on the tele. Food in my hand (now in my stomach). And now… I’m writing about, FOOD!!!

Bottom line is, the Bake Off has given me the true, deep felt motivation I needed to perfect that Crocker Brownie. I will beat Betty! She will not win.

By the way, I’m aware of the three ingredients I am responsible in her recipes – considering they’re all premixed – but there is still a  skillful technique to be learned before I hit the the next mountain in my baking abilities…

Flapjacks.

