Day: Doggy style workouts – I’m onto a winner!

Walk2
I’ve not been to the gym much really since my last boast. And when I say ‘much’, what I really mean is ‘…I haven’t been. At all’.

It’s ok though. Because I’ve been on a couple of walks instead – including today. There might have been a pit stop to enjoy a soya latte and Malteser brownie between laps of the park… And when I say ‘might have’, what I really mean is ‘there definitely was’. I mean, once round the park, pit stop, again around the park. To me that’s a fair agreement with oneself is it not? It’s like, workout – treat thyself – burn it off again. I might have only burnt 0.005% of the calories of the cake, but it’s something! I’ve already beaten the couch potatoes of this world by even walking in the first place.

An added bonus was that it was with a good friend of mine… which means you talk. A lot.

Now what I realised here, was that I was a tad out of breath at one point. Embarrassing, yes, maybe so. BUT I figured I must have been using more energy by doing this. Meaning I was raising my heart-rate more, ultimately burning more calories?! I’m not 100% sure on that theory, but it damn well felt like it. So I’m going to run with it (or walk – clearly I’ve proved I can’t run nowadays when I can just about walk and talk at the same time!).

Trying to get a story out when you’re gasping for air isn’t exactly something I thought I’d ever struggle with. However, isn’t that ultimately what the aim is for a successful cardio workout? To raise the heart-rate and get a tad bit out off breath?

So, you may laugh at my cake break during this outing… you may even be saying to yourself,

“You’re not a dog, don’t reward yourself with treats”.

But you know what, maybe dogs aren’t so bad. MAYBE, they’ve got the right idea here. All dogs are fit right!? So… who’s laughing now? Woof.

